Cross Party Group on Sustainable Energy Annual Report

1. Group membership and office holders.

Other AMs: David Melding, AM Huw Irranca-Davies, AM Jenny Rathbone, AM John Griffiths, AM Lee Waters, AM Mike Hedges, AM Nick Ramsay, AM

Secretary:Carolyn Pugsley, FreshwaterOther members:David Clubb, Renewable UK Cymru

Erin Gill, Arup

2. Previous Group Meetings since the last AGM.

Meeting 1.

Meeting date: Wednesday 14 February 2018 Attendees: Jenny Rathbone, AM John Griffiths, AM Llyr Gruffydd AM Mike Hedges, AM Nick Ramsay, AM Angharad Davies, Cadno Communications Ben Lewis, Barton Wilmore Carolyn Pugsley, Freshwater Chris Jackson, RES Corbin Saunders, Liberty Renewables Craig Salter, Associated British Ports Daniel Bryant, National Assembly for Wales Daniel Patterson, ERM David Brown, ARUP David Clubb, RenewableUK David Roberts, EA Technology

Erin Gill, ARUP Fflur Lawton, Smart Energy GB Gareth Tucker, Seren Energy Gerallt Hughes, ARUP Gillian Pennack, ARUP Gwenllian Elias, Savills Ioan Llyr Smallwood, Tegni Ltd Jack Sellers, National Assembly for Wales Jennifer Pride, Welsh Government Jeremy Smith, innogy Renewables UK Jonny Hewitt, Vattenfall Lia Murphy, Ofgem Lowri Kenny, Smart Energy GB Mabon Apgwyn, Cadno Communications Margaret Minhinnick, Sustainable Wales Mari Arthur, Cynnal Cymru Mark Summers, Acuity Legal Limited Natalie Queffurus, ARUP Nick Speed, Centrica Olivia Powis, Ofgem Paul Morris, EA Technology Robert Proctor, Renew Wales/Adfywio Cymru Rosemary Grogan, RES Sara Powell-Davies, RenewableUK Sian Caiach, Llanelli Rural Council Simon Morgan, REG Power Management Steve Knowles, Cardiff Council Stuart Bechares, Acuity Legal Limited Tony Cooke, Cardiff Community Energy Yasmin Akbari, Freshwater

Summary of issues discussed: Dave Roberts, from EA Technology, and Jeremy Smith, from innogy Renewables UK each gave a presentation about the grid in Wales. Dave Roberts spoke about the challenges Wales faces with its grid while Jeremy Smith spoke from the perspective of a developer.

Meeting 2.

Meeting date:	Wednesday 13 June 2018
Attendees:	Llyr Gruffydd, AM
	Aled Rowlands, National Grid
	Amanda Biss, Egnida
	Andy Regan, CAB
	Beca Roberts, Community Energy Wales
	Bethan Proctor, National Energy Action (NEA) Cymru

Brett John, Plaid Cymru Intern Carole Morgan-Jones, National Energy Action (NEA) Cymru Carolyn Pugsley, Freshwater Caryl Lewis, Work experience with Jenifer Pride Catrin Jones, Tidal Lagoon Power Catriona Brown, Welsh Assembly Chris Rossiter. Freshwater Daniel Patterson, WSP David Clubb, RenewableUK Cymru David N Thomas, Sêr Cymru Fozia Akhtar, Llanelli Councillor Gareth Williams, CITB Bircham Newton Georgia Gandy, Intern to Simon Thomas AM Gerallt Hughes, ARUP Gwenllian Elias, Savills Huw Jenkins, Intern to Simon Thomas AM Jane Taylor, Sustainable Wales Jennifer Pride, Welsh Government Jianzhong Wu, Cardiff University Katherine Route-Stephens, Natural Resources Wales Mari Arthur, Cynnal Cymru Mark Summers, Acuity Legal Limited Martyn Popham, Cenin Renewables Ltd Matthew John, Tai Calon Community Housing Neil Woollard, Tidal Lagoon Power Richard Duffy, Cardiff University Robert Proctor, Renew Wales/Adfywio Cymru Sara Powell Davies, RenewableUK Cymru Shea Buckland-Jones, Institute of Welsh Affairs Sian Caiach, Llanelli Rural Council Sjoerd van Acht, USW Stephen Nottingham, Freelance Writer/ Journalist Steve Knowles, Cardiff Council

Summary of issues discussed: David Thomas, from Sêr Cymru National Research Network for Low Carbon, Energy and Environment (NRN-LCEE), and Jianzhong Wu, from Cardiff University, each gave a presentation about energy research in Wales. David Thomas spoke about the work of the Network while Jianzhong Wu spoke of research involved with integrated energy networks and the development of energy.

Meeting 3.

Meeting date: Tuesday 25 September 2018

Attendees: Llyr Gruffydd, AM

Aled Rowlands, National Grid Andy Regan, Ofgem Ann Cousins, Arup Bethan Proctor, National Energy Action (NEA) Cymru Carolyn Pugsley, Freshwater Charlotte Gibson, Onshore Renewable Energy Policy Team Clare Jones, Grasshopper PR Craig Harrison, Liberty Renewables David Clubb, Renewable Cymru UK Ella Maxwell, Ofgem Erin Gill, Arup Gareth Williams, CITB Bircham Newtown Gerallt Hughes, Arup Guto Owen, Ynni Glan Helen Westhead, Arup Jane Taylor, Energy, Water and Flood Division Jennifer Pride, Welsh Government Joe Ayoubkhani, Barton Willmore Jonny Hewitt, Vattenfall Laura Hulson Llyr Gruffydd, Welsh Assembly Mari Arthur, Cynnol Cymru Mark Summers, Acuity Legal Limited Ragne Low, University of Strathclyde Sara Powell-Davies, Renewable Cymru UK Simon Morgan, REG Power Management Stephen Cook, Arup Stuart Bechares, Acuity Legal Limited Tony Cooke, Cardiff Community Energy Yasmin Akbari, Freshwater

Summary of issues discussed: Chris Stark, the Chief Executive at the Committee on Climate Change, and Ragne Low, from the University of Strathclyde, each gave a presentation about whether Wales should be 'more like Scotland' when it comes to energy policy. Chris Stark set the scene by putting Scotland's energy policy into a historical and political perspective, while Ragne Low spoke about the current situation and the future of energy policy.

3. Professional lobbyists, voluntary organisations and charities with whom the Group has met during the preceding year.

N/A

Annual Financial Statement.

15 October 2018

Cross Party Group on Sustainable Energy

Chair: Llyr Gruffydd, AM

Secretary: Carolyn Pugsley, Director, Freshwater

Group's Expenses.	None.	£0.00	
Costs of all goods.	No goods purchased.	£0.00	
Benefits received by the group or individual Members from outside bodies.	No benefits received.	£0.00	
Any secretariat or other support.	No financial support received.	£0.00	
Services provided to the Group such as hospitality. All refreshments paid for by Arup.			
Date	Description and name of provider	Cost	
Wednesday 14 February 2018	Food and Beverages	£738.00	
Wednesday 13 June 2018	Food and Beverages	£436.80	
Tuesday 25 September 2018	Food and Beverages	£353.40	
	Total cost	£1,528.20	